Month: December 2006

  • Crackville, Oregon

    My gosh.  This is a very interesting place with many interesting people.  I think I'm going to like it.  Fortunately I've found a network to chill with and a guy has already given me his number.  At least he has all his teeth.  I was warned about missing teeth, but everyone so far seems to have a full set.  Oddly enough, most of the people that live here aren't from here.  Some are from Portland, Ohio, or Indiana even.

    Today we are going to go cut down our Christmas tree.  Then I'm calling my new friend Gina to go watch the rest of 'Without a Paddle' at her house. 

    ...So much to say.  So much to say.

    San Francisco...my new stomping grounds.  Gotta love cancelled flights and sleeping on benches.

  • Moral Obligation

    I'm walking in downtown Seattle.  The chilly air nips my cheeks and nose, and I slip my cold hands into my pockets.  I glance at the happy couples strolling down the streets hand-in-hand.  I smile at the parents led by eager kids to the nearest toy store.  I quicken my pace past the Starbucks in Westlake Center to avoid the temptation of the tantalizing coffee aroma, and continue up on Pine Street.  I inhale the crisp air and enjoy Seattle's Christmas decor--the lights, the Christmas trees, and the various nutcracker statues stationed at each street corner. 

    Then the peaceful scene is interupted by a jarring clanking noise.  My eyes narrow to the left and through my periphery I see a man with no legs shaking a metal can with coins.  I walk another fifty paces and in my mind a million thoughts collide.

    --Don't make eye contact!
    --I should give him money.
    --He's going to use it on alcohol and drugs.
    --He's in a wheelchair!  The man needs help!
    --I can't trust him.
    --I'm a Christian and there is a man in need.  Help him.

    I halt on the sidewalk; people push pass me ignoring my presence.  I turn around and walk back to the man with his can.  I pull out some money and drop it in his can.  He looks into my eyes and thanks me profusely.  I make an effort to smile and say "God bless you." 

    I wonder who this man is.  What is his name?  How did he lose his legs?  Was he a war veteran?  Why was his voice so distorted?  What was he like as a kid? 

    ...What makes me so different from him?